The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

The 2019 Cricket World Cup (officially the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019) is the 12th edition of the Cricket World Cup, which will be held in England and Wales from May 30 to July 14, 2019.

Hosting rights were granted in April 2006, after England and Wales withdrew from the competition to host the 2015 Cricket World Cup, which was held in Australia and New Zealand. The first match will be played in The Oval, and the final will be in the Lord’s. The fifth time the Cricket World Cup will be held in England and Wales after the World Championships of 1975, 1979, 1983 and 1999.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019The format of the tournament will consist of one group of ten teams, each of which will play with the other nine teams, and the four best teams will move to the final stage of the final and knockout. The tournament of ten teams received criticism due to the lack of associated teams in the tournament.

Given the increase in the number of countries participating in testing, from 10 to 12, with the admission of Ireland and Afghanistan in June 2017, this will be the first world championship in which all countries participating in the test will participate, and after eliminating all participants. Associated teams in the qualifying tournament, this will also be the first world championship in which there are no associate members.

After an attack on Pulwama in 2019, several former Indian players and the Indian Cricket Control Board (BCCI) called for a boycott of the group match between India and Pakistan, wanting to ban the Pakistani cricket team from participating in the tournament.

After a press meeting in Dubai, the International Cricket Council (ICC) rejected BCCI’s statement regarding Pakistan’s ban on the World Cup and assured that the scheduled match would take place as planned, despite the ongoing confrontation between the two countries.


The 2019 World Cup will include 10 teams, which is less than in previous world championships of 2011 and 2015, in which 14 teams participated. The home team, England and the seven best other teams in the ICC One Day International rankings, as of September 30, 2017, earned an automatic qualification, and the remaining two places were determined in the Qualifying Tournament of the 2018 World Cricket Championship.

At the time of the announcement of the qualification structure, the associated and affiliated members of the ICC, who were guaranteed four places in the previous two World Cup tournaments, could be represented by no more than two teams, and possibly none of them, if they were beaten by full members with the lowest rated in qualifier. It also meant that at least two of the 10 test countries at the time of the announcement should have taken part in the qualifying tournament and could have completely missed the World Cup final.

After the recent success, Ireland and Afghanistan were nominated for the ICC ODI championship, and since then have also become full members of the ICC, becoming the newest countries in cricket testing. However, they still had to qualify for the World Cup through the current process.

Afghanistan won the qualifying tournament by beating the West Indies in the final. Both teams were selected for the World Cup, and Zimbabwe, despite the qualifying tournament, could not reach the final and will miss the World Cup for the first time since 1983. The newly appointed full member of the Irish national team will also miss the World Cup for the first time since 2007. and for the first time, no associated country will participate in the World Cup.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *